Wildcats!

DSC03458Hey everybody, it’s been a while 🙂 sorryi’mnotsorry. The gorgeous summer has left us and I’m feeling a little blue about the next 9 months of rain. Oregon weather is such a tease (9 months of shit in exchange for the most beautiful/perfect summers you’ve ever seen). Enough talking about the weather, let’s talk about my latest dress.

This is version one billion of Dixie DIY’s Ballet Dress Pattern. It is such a good versatile basic. The fabric is a cozy leopard print sweater knit I picked up at Joann’s recently. I bought the last of the bolt so I only 1.35 yards to work with. It wasn’t a challenge to fit this in with the limited yardage. I cut the fronts and backs on the fold, and then had to lay it out as a single layer to fit in the sleeves. This fabric went from flat yardage to a completed dress in 2 and a half hours. Is there a sewing equivalent to fast fashion? That’s about as close to instant gratification as a trip to Target.

I modified the bodice by keeping the 3 inches in length that I added last time. The sleeves were narrowed about 2 inches to be a closer fit than the pattern is drafted. I think I will narrow the shoulder seam the next time I make this dress. I’ve sewn a few things since I last posted. I made a blouse for my sister a cute lacy pair of the Iris shorts by Colette, some more funny underpants, and a wool cap. For the most part I’ve felt underwhelmed. I’m going to try to make something a little more challenging to pique my interest in sewing again.

xx, Cynthia

20131009-213015.jpg20131009-213100.jpg

10 thoughts on “Wildcats!

  1. It sounds like such a lovely summer. And boo hiss to 9 months of ick. It is similar here in Canberra- we’re heading into the three months of lovely then back to freezer status. On the plus side- your frock is fab and you’ll rock fall in style 😀

  2. You should continue your writing. I am confident, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & assist different users like its aided me. Great job.

  3. Around the mid ’90s, Japanese anime started to get very popular in the United States,
    causing a whole new level of awareness for cartoons in general.
    ‘Steven Universe’, created by Rebecca Sugar, will follow the adventures of the Crystal Gems, a group of heroes made up of
    three superpowered ladies and a less-than-super boy named Steven. And when these animals interact with people alongside really green scenery, it makes for the cartoon songs to be really
    soulful.

Kind Words...