Laurel…. and Some Tacky Underpants

DSC03099I’m finally blogging my Colette Laurel. I was able to squeek this one under the deadline for the Laurel sewing competition.

I entered this into the self designed fabric category. I had been wanting to hand stamp a dress with french bulldogs for over a year. I had seen the cute pony dress over on the blog A Beautiful Mess and really wanted to make a version for myself. When I saw the Colette competition, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to try out this technique. I found a bulldog silhouette on the interwebs and used it to make a stamp with craft foam.

DSC03092I cut a size 4 (which is my standard size in Colette). It came out HUGE. I ended up shaving this down to a size zero right under the bust to the hem. I’m still able to pull this over my head without a zipper even though I shaved so much off of the side seams. I omitted the sleeves and drafted a Peter Pan collar.

DSC03082It didn’t came out as cute in real life as it did in my head. It’s a little *too* homemade looking. I don’t want to look like I’m wearing something made by Patricia on Project Runway… LOLZZZ. I think this is going to end up in the never worn part of the closet. I’m not ready to give up on this idea yet. I want to try screen printing some smaller scale bulldogs on a future version of Laurel.

In other news, I made my first pair of panties (ewww…. I know that’s a fairly universally hated word). This is the most ridic item of clothing I’ve ever made. These are made from an old T-shirt that was thrifted and destined to be underpants. I used Zoe’s free pants pattern. I finished the edges with fold over elastic and these are very comfortable hipster panties.

wpid-IMG_20130502_225604.jpg

 

I’m currently working on making my first bathing suit. I hope it come out cute 🙂

XX, Cynthia

14 thoughts on “Laurel…. and Some Tacky Underpants

  1. I love how great the fit on your Laurel turned out! Sweet not having to deal with a zipper, added bonus. I like the screen print you made, the bulldogs are super cute, that’s one project I have never had the patience to do so far so hats off to you! And your underpants are pretty awesome, I must say 😀

  2. WAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Those undies! LOL. And I LOVE the dress– I think it’s way adorable and definitely not very Patricia. Seriously, until you make a tie-dyed garbage bag with holes for your arms and head, you won’t be in Patricia territory. 😉

  3. This is whacky and adorable! The colour choices go really well together. I had to take mine in at the sides quite a bit as well because I felt a little sack-like in it. good luck in the comp!

  4. I see what you mean… that t-shirt really was destined to be underwear! I like your Laurel dress, I hope you do wear it because it’s fab and such a shame to keep it in your wardrobe after all that effort to make it.

  5. I love this dress and can’t see why you wouldn’t be in love with it too. I know the dress you are talking about on A Beautiful Mess. I love that dress and have been wanting to do something similar. Do you think it was the paint that you used that made it look homemade?? Feel free to send me an email.

  6. Hahahaha! EPIC use of my pants pattern! Thanks for sharing. I for one LOVE your dress and think it exhibits a perfect level DIY-ness. xxx

Kind Words...

