Lori’s Shorts: McCall’s 5391

This is my baby sister and I luff her <3. Her birthday is coming up and we decided that I would sew her a pair of shorts for her prezzie. You can see me wearing the muslin here.

We had a sister date a few weeks back where we went fabric shopping at the Pendleton outlet in Washougal, swam in the Columbia River, and got tattoos. I was thinking we would get some wool while at the  Pendleton store and make a winter short, but this mint green snake print cotton twill caught her eye.

I kept trying to talk her out of it (I thought it was supah tacky), but then a voice in my head said, “Idiot! These are for her, not you!” I’m glad I shut up because these shorts are perfect for her. They suit her style perfectly and fit her nicely. I also like them too (O_o) and lucky for me we’re the same size.

I goofed by putting the zipper of the mock-fly on the wrong side so they zip up like men’s shorts. One thing I’ve noticed with this pattern is that as drafted the waistband is a little short. I recommend is adding a centimeter or so. I ended up having to ease the shorts to fit on to the waistband.

I interfaced the waistband with horse-hair canvass to keep it from rumpleing and changed up the installation from the pattern directions so I wouldn’t have to slip-stitch by hand. I took photos so I’ll post a mini tutorial this week.

xx, Cynthia

 

7 thoughts on “Lori’s Shorts: McCall’s 5391

Kind Words...

