See You Next Tuesday!

5 cool points to you if you caught my SATC reference! I’ve muslined my 1950’s shorts and bra top. Boy, oh boy, this is going to be adorable. I’m making them out of a length a green and cream seersucker. The shorts fit right out of the envelope with no fitting changes needed.

image

The top is another story altogether. The band fits perfectly around my ribcage, however the cups have a little extra “perkiness” due to the bullet bras of the era. I need to remove about an inch from the apex of the bust.  I played around with it for a couple of hours Sunday night. Eventually, I extended one of the darts all of the way to the top of the cup (essentially making a princess seam), but now I have gaping under the arm. Should I add a mini dart there too?

Is this the perfect situation to try a SBA? I wear a D cup, so I’ve never looked into them before. I have wiggled these darts every which way. There is just a little pool of extra fabric right over my nipple area that needs to be removed.

image

However, I won’t be able to cut into my fashion fabric for a bit because I’m leaving for Glacier National Park tomorrow! We’re going to do a 60 mile backpacking loop. Here’s a photo of me there 2 years ago. I’ll post a ton of photos when we get back in a week 🙂

3 thoughts on “See You Next Tuesday!

  1. Oh yay, have a great trip!! Your little playsuit is going to be ADORABLE! Can’t wait to see it! An SBA sounds like the perfect solution, since you’ll be able to overlap at the apex and remove the excess right from the problem area.

Kind Words...

