NSFW: Naked Bike Ride

There is a photo featuring some nudity further down this post, so read no further if you find that offensive. Ye be warned.

I have seen all of the photos from your fancy bike events (and I’m super jealous). Yes, I’m talking to you London and DC.  Looking all fly for your dapper tweed rides and bourgeois seersucker socials. Well, we do things a little dirtier in Portland, Oregon. Last night was the Naked Bike Ride. It was so much fun! Attendance this year was around 8,000 people. That’s a lot of flesh.

There was a very fun carnival like atmosphere, for the 7 mile ride. There was a naked marching band, naked roller bladers, naked skateboarders, and of course naked cyclists for hours. There was even an impromptu naked dance party. My husband and I rode with two of our friends, Liam and Chelsea. They had borrowed a tandem bicycle for the event and it was pretty hysterical. I was surprised by my lack of self-consciousness being that exposed. Everyone was naked, It’s really freeing from a body image perspective to see so many nude bodies.

If you’re interested, there are a bunch of professional photos on the Bike Portland website. They really capture the spirit of the event. I really love this city sometimes :)

3 thoughts on “NSFW: Naked Bike Ride

  1. My friend did the Bare to breakers run in san franscisco a couple years ago and it sounded like a blast! A little painful, but liberating nonetheless. This seems right up that alley, way to be free!

  2. If you have an opportunity to do something like this I recommend it. SO MUCH FUN! I was scared to go last year, but now I’m sure I’ll make a point to attend every year.

Kind Words...

