Help me ladies!

So I have this fun striped fabric. Doesn’t it remind you of something Mondo, from Project Runway, would use. Of course, he’d pair it with 10 other crazy prints and make it look fabulous. I don’t have those skillz (yet).

I want try experimenting with changing the grainlines and matching stripes, yikes. Melizza,  just made this adorbs Colette ginger skirt. I’m loving the chevron effect, and I had intentions of doing something similar when I bought this yardage.

So… I’m planning on modifying Simplicity 2444 . I’m going to make a center front seam on the bodice; and try my darndest to match all those stripes at the front, back, and sides. I’m not sure if I want to try all that on the skirt as well. Baby steps, people.

Here is my question. I’m concerned about the bodice stretching and getting all wonky since it’s meant to be cut on the straight grain. Should I stabilize all of the bodice pieces with a lightweight interfacing, so that it behaves more like fabric cut on the straight grain? Is this step unnecessary? I have pretty much no experience when it comes to this. Any feedback is appreciated. Help a sistah out!

8 thoughts on “Help me ladies!

  1. I wish I could help. But you propose to do sounds like a good idea. The only problem I can see happening is if you use fusible interfacing it can possibly bubble after a few washes. Maybe you can use an organza or sew-in interface instead?

    And that’s all I got 🙂 Hope someone chimes in with some good advice.

  2. You shouldn’t need to interface it. Use a stay-stitch around the neck early on to stop that for going out of shape, but as it fits fairly well into the waistline, there shouldn’t be an issue.

      • Is the fabric a cotton or something flimsier? If it is a “sturdy” fabric there is no problem, just make the pattern with the seam down the front and carry on, there shouldn’t be any hassle. If it is a silk you may want to line it on the straight and seam the skirt to the bodice shell and lining together, this way the bodice lining will take the strain of the weight of the skirt. Mostly there shouldn’t be any problems, especially as the bodice is quite fitting, and the waistline is fairly snug from the looks of it. The only way it will get stretched and pull tight is if the skirt exerts too much pull on the bodice, which shouldn’t happen with this design. If you are really worried, make up a toile/muslin on the cross and attach a skirt. Leave to hang and and see what happens.

      • Thank you SOOOOOO much! The fabric is cotton and has a fair amount of weight to it, it’s definitely stable. You have helped me a lot. I’ve just gotten it into my head that the bias is tricky and scary. I read the Bias 101 article from Threads Magazine. It mentions adding quite a bit of ease and using larger seam allowances.

  3. I love the idea of that patterns front darts meeting with that stripe. I know Mondo would approve also. I’m gathering my popcorn, dachshund lap warmers and a beverage to watch- this is going to be lovely!

  4. Total Mondo. I love it. I saw this dress recently that created a chevron at the waist, on its side. Does that make sense? so both the bodice and the skirt were cut on the bias, with the stripes matching at the waist seam. It was super cool. I’m planning on stealing that idea, unless you steal it first and then I will happily steal it back.

  5. Place your pattern pieces on the fabric across the bias making sure to match up for chevron/ seams. Then cut out a large square around the pattern pieces (i.e. 2 inches out from the edges of the pattern piece). Then hand those squares up by one corner for the next 2-3 days. That’s enough for them to stretch along mechanical stretch lines. Then lay them flat and cut out your pattern pieces from them.

Kind Words...

