Holiday Cheer Skirt

Merry Christmas ya’ll! I found a pile of Christmas napkins at the thrift store for $2 and thought I could make something festive for the holidays. There were 16 napkins in total. Half were trimmed in red ric rac and the other half in green. After playing with them for a bit, I decided that a box pleated skirt would be the best way to showcase the large poinsettias.

I used the waist band from Simplicity 2512 as a starting point, I used super crazy stiff fusible interfacing to hold the waistband up. I then folded and pressed the napkins until I found a way that looked pleasing to my eye. I added some red piping between the waistband and skirt (because piping makes everything a million times cuter). I used the remaining three napkins to make a lining, but I goofed majorly on that. I rush head long into things without taking time to plan out the best course of action. I had it hang straight down from the waist leaving no room for my hips or bum. There was no way it was going to fit. Since I didn’t want to undo the piping and invisible zip, and spend even more time on something I can only wear for the next week, I cut up the sides of the lining. This is the most inelegant skirt from the inside. The lining hangs like a loin cloth, covering my front and rear end only. Oh well, the outside is all that counts, right?

This skirt came out a lot cuter than I originally thought. Looking at the napkins, I was thinking it’d be a super cheesy skirt, only acceptable at an ugly Christmas sweater party. This is totally wearable though. I decided to go for a punk-rock Christmas cheerleader look. I paired it with a plain black tee, sheer tights, and my Doc Martens.

6 thoughts on “Holiday Cheer Skirt

  1. Pingback: ただ履くだけでオシャレに見える!Dr.Martin(ドクター・マーチン)のコーディネート集 | Corde -コーディネート-

Kind Words...

