Junk Food Nation

IMG_20130812_191749_975While I was making this dress I realized I should concentrate my fabric buying on solid pieces of fabric because that’s what I tend to pull most out of my closet. Of course that’s what I realized while making a party dress out of the silliest fabric ever made. In my head, I thought this would be a fun flirty dress, which it is, but it’s also very bold. I don’t know how much I’ll wear this. Note to self: Don’t buy fabric because it makes you laugh.

This is Vogue 1288. I’m surprised I haven’t seen more of this dress made up because it’s super cute and super easy. I like the low sexy back and this is loose and comfortable to wear in the summertime heat. This honestly took maybe three hours to make.

IMG_20130812_191906_831The instructions tell you to make a metric shit ton of bias binding and bind all of the seams. I ignored those, perhaps that would be necessary with a sequinned fabric, but not with the soft rayon challis I used. I just serged them all. The neckline and armholes are bound with bias. It’s a very neat and clean finish.

IMG_20130812_191833_581I made a straight size 12 and really should have graded out to a 14 in the hips/ thigh area. This skirt is tight on my… errrr… “strong” legs. I’m going to call this dress a wearable muslin instead of the finished dress I had in mind. I really do love the sillhouette and I really do love pizza, but maybe not together

18 thoughts on “Junk Food Nation

  1. Ha! That fabric is hilarious! I really like the candles in the pizza slices. This dress looks great on you, but I know it wouldn’t work on me. Obvious waist definition is a must for my figure. I hope you’ll find occasions to wear this, though, it’s just too fun to sit in the closet!

  2. This is so cute! I love it! I’ve had my eye on this pattern for a while, but haven’t picked it up yet. Meredith at Bright as Buttons made this in cream-colored lace for her casual wedding, and it turned out really sweet. I could totally see you in a fun lace version of this dress!

  3. This is really cute! I never considered this pattern for some reason, but I might pick it up now 🙂
    I love the fabric, but a big part of why I started sewing was being able to have clothing in prints that were too fun for RTW 🙂

  4. This is a party dress if I ever saw one! Love the junk food fabric, maybe because I love junk food so much… Sigh. I have had my eye on this pattern since they released it a year or two ago (cant remember how long) but I have not seen anyone make it up so I was hesitant. The sequins on the cover also threw me, it kind of made it seem like it needed to be a special occasion dress. You’ve certainly changed my mind on it! Ill have to add it to my list of sale patterns to snatch up, this is super adorable on you!

  5. Hee hee hee!! I’m in love with your dress! I love how the elegance of the dress cut and the beautiful way you sewed it, contrast so much with the fabric print. I Want One!!!!

  6. Who says you shouldn’t buy fabric that makes you laugh? I just made a skirt with fishbowls on it and the Kitschy Coo skater dress out of fabric with flamingos on it. Wear your pizza proudly because no one else has that dress.

    I’m a fellow Portland sewist!

  7. The fabric is hilarious! Buying fabric that makes you laugh is perfectly acceptable, last Christmas, I saw some fabric that had cats in Santa hats all over it, now a metre of it sits in my stash. I really like the silhouette of the dress too and Rayon is a really good choice for that style 🙂

  8. I have a similarly busy novelty fabric (also with pizza but not as fun as this one) that I attempted to make a skirt out of. I hated it, and it had its zippered ripped out and is now in my scrap heap waiting to be recycled into something else.

    This dress is super cute! I’m adding the pattern to my wishlist! Love the back neckline.

Kind Words...