Foxy: Simplicity 2154

DSC02874I’ve been working on the blouse from vintage repro Simplicity 2154 for the past week. This little blouse has been on my must make list for quite a while. Since it is Jungle January, I decided to pull out the only piece of “animal print” in my stash. This counts right? It has animals on it :)

DSC02851I generally stay away from quilting cotton, but I couldn’t resist this cute fox print when I saw it. It’s Japanese, which seems to be the homeland of all things cute!

DSC02857DSC02858

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This top is pretty basic and I was able to squeeze it out of only one yard of fabric. The only instructions I deviated from was that I didn’t interface the bow. I didn’t see the point after I cut it on the bias. These two photos are the only ones I was able to take without my sweater on because it was so COLD. See my inability to smile… haha I hate being cold.

DSC02871The only new technique that went into making this top was I made a fabric covered button for the first time. Unfortunately, I don’t have a closeup photo of it. I centered one of the little fox faces over the center of the button.

I’m looking forward to trying this pattern out with a fabric with more drape. I’d like to see this hanging a little bit closer to my body in my next version.

xx, CynthiaDSC02856

31 thoughts on “Foxy: Simplicity 2154

  1. Pingback: Whats new Pussycats? We’re at the half-way mark! « Pretty Grievances

  2. i love it, something about the design of the pattern takes it to a slightly different place than what i usually think of when i see a pussy bow blouse, and it completely works with your foxy fabric.

  3. Pingback: The Annie Awards! Semi-live and semi-ferocious! | Pretty Grievances

  4. These foxes are SO adorable! I am having some major sewing envy right now – lol :)

    Also, I just wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for a Liebster Award! I have been following for awhile now and I really like your blog and think it deserves some recognition! You can read a little more about it on my latest blog post. Thanks for being awesome!

Kind Words...

