Back to Basics: How to Sew in a Straight Line

My friend Katie (hey girl!), from my hometown, just got her first sewing machine. YAY!!!! I love hearing about other people getting into this hobby, that I find so rewarding. She sent me a message on Facebook asking me for advice, because she found sewing in a straight line to be harder than she thought.

This post is for you Katie, and all the beginner stitchers out there. I don’t remember where I got this idea, but it was very helpful to me when I was just starting.

Lay a piece of masking tape along the 5/8″ line (or whatever seam allowance you are sewing with) and extend it . This gives you a much easier to see point of reference, to keep your seams even and your stitching straight.

 

xx, Cynthia

7 thoughts on “Back to Basics: How to Sew in a Straight Line

  1. I learned to stitch by stichting without thread on lined paper. Just follow the lines and you musn’t miss. Great to practice.

Kind Words...

