Simplicity 1873 v 2.0

I made another version of  Simplicity 1873. This time I made version A. One thing I’ve learned from my other version is that I’m not short-waisted like I thought I was. My other version hits into my ribs. This time I added 3/4″ to the bodice and it’s more comfortable. I also made this a little bit larger and now after looking at these photos I think I might want to go back in and take it in a wee bit.

Originally I drafted a peter-pan collar that I hand-beaded (here’s a photo from Instagram). I decided after it was on that I didn’t like it. I felt that it looked a little homemade (because I couldn’t get the curve smooth) so I decided to remove it. I have two vintage beaded collars, so I can have the look when I want it or not. The bow at the waist is detachable also. I used my hot glue gun to attach it to a pin back.

The sleeves on this pattern are so cute. They feature 5 darts to create the puff shape. I fully lined this dress with some black rayon voile. I finished with an invisible zipper and a machined blind hem.

This is a great pattern if you love the classic “fit and flare” silhouette

16 thoughts on “Simplicity 1873 v 2.0

  1. Pingback: Simple and Sweet

  2. This is so cute on you! I love it! I just tried to make this dress for the 2nd time and AGAIN miscalculated how much fabric I needed (well, I got enough fabric this time but goofed on the lining fabric).

  3. that dress looks lovely. i bought the pattern. What fabric would you suggest is the fabric to use of it? and what fabric did you use for urs?

    • Hello, This dress sews up lovely in almost any stable woven fabric. I’ve made it out of wool as well as cotton. As long as the fabric isn’t too slinky and slippery, just about anything should work out well. Have fun :) Xx, Cynthia

Kind Words...

