Playing With Stripes: Simplicity 2444 v2.0

Heeey-Ooooooh! So I finally did the finishing touches to my second version of Simplicity 2444. I made a few changes to the pattern pieces to get this chevron effect. I traced the bodice pattern piece and instead of laying it on the fold, I added a seam allowance so that I could create a chevron effect with my striped fabric. I also changed the neckline to a 45 degree angle to mimic the shape of the stripes. This fabric was actually a stretch cotton which I didn’t realize when I purchased it. the combination of stretch and being cut on the bias makes for a very comfortable dress. I opted to not include pockets in this version, because I didn’t want to throw my pattern matching off at the side seams. The only place where the stripes don’t match up perfectly is at the center back with my zipper installation. Honestly, I should have done a hand-picked zipper so that I could have more control.  But, I didn’t feel like doing any hand sewing, so I didn’t. Instead of using facings I fully lined this dress. Using this tutorial for an All-Machine Clean-Finish Sleeveless Bodice Lining Technique from the Slapdash Sewist, it came together quite simply. I then clean-finished by machine the bodice lining to the zipper tape using this tutorial. In keeping up with the no hand sewing I used my blind hem foot to finish the hem. Then I was done. Since this dress is fully lined I didn’t really bother with fancy seam finishes since you can’t see them. Everything is pinked on the inside. All-in-all I really like this dress. It’s fun and comfortable and I definitely won’t have to worry about running into someone else wearing the same thing. Isn’t sewing grand?

This last photo is an outtake but it’s the best one that shows what the stripes did at the darts.

36 thoughts on “Playing With Stripes: Simplicity 2444 v2.0

  1. I absolutely love this! Stripes are so fun, some of my favorite outfits are striped. I may have to try a version of this, you look beautiful in this dress :)

  2. CUTE. Love the fabric, the colors, the chevrons, the big floofy skirt- I think you may have just sewn an often discussed but rarely seen Perfect Dress :) Seriously!

  3. I love this dress! One quick question for you (as I’ve also considered using this pattern for chevrons)–did you make any modifications to the darts? I can’t decide if the vertical darts would effect the stripes or not…

    Thanks in advance! And this is really stunning.

    • Nope, I didn’t modify the darts at all, I’m not that clever. If you look at the photo of the closeup of my waist you can see what shenanigans they get into.

      • Oops, I just realized that it didn’t show as much as I thought it did. I’m about to post another photo if you’d like to see how the stripes behaved with the darts :)

  4. I hope you get to wear this dress a lot because it’s really really adorable! Major kudos to you for a really great job of stripes-matching!

  5. You and your dress look GORGEOUS! I can only imagine how many compliments you will get wearing your dress.

    Thanks for mentioning those tutorials. I will have to bookmark them for future reference.

  6. First of all, you are adorable and so is that dress! I have a major amazing green and white striped cotton that I wanted to use for a chevron ed bodice and you are inspiring me to get around to it. Thanks for the links to the lining tutorials. I spent a 6 hour bus ride handsewing some linings last weekend which was amusing for my fellow passengers and annoying for me.

  7. Pingback: Tutorial: How to Cut Fabric to Make Chevrons | Dapper Duds

  8. Thank you, thank you, thank you! After trying to get my head around the chevron and googling all afternoon, I came here and FINALLY it all makes sense. I’m a hem away from finishing my first Chevron skirt and it went over like a charm. Amazing how something which is actually pretty simple can do ones head in!

  9. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to
    start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Cheers

Kind Words...

