Butterick 6582, I’m in love

My Yaya (grandma) has about half a dozen gorgeous dresses from the 60’s in her closet. My grandpa was in the navy andnd once upon a time they lived in Hong Kong. While they were stationed there he had gorgeous clothes made for her. Sigh. I used to borrow them  for special occasions (prom, weddings etc). Here’s my favorite dress from a friend’s wedding a few years ago.

We like to get low on occasion.

I can’t find a better photo or one that includes the matching boxy jacket. They are all to die for, but sadly they all eventually go back to her.  I really think she should give them all to me! My sister and cousins will feel sad and I will never let them borrow them ever.

I just completed Butterick 6582, which is a retro re-production of a pattern originally printed in 1960. This is in homage to those fabulous dresses and it’s mine-all-mine!

I used some emerald/ tealish and gold brocade I found on sale at Joann fabrics (This hot little number cost me less than $20 to make).

I cut a size 12, and had to make a few adjustments to get the fit close to right (I made two muslins). I shortened the waist 1 1/4″ and the length by 2″ so that it would hit below my knee as opposed to mid-calf. I also ended up making the side seams a full inch to get this bad boy to hug my curves..

The adjustment I’m most proud of was figuring out how to lower the back 6″ and re-drafting the back facing to fit.I finished the side seams by pinking and finished the facings with vintage pink seam binding (from 1966, naturally). I inserted an invisible zipper  for the first time (thank you Colette Patterns) and hemmed by hand using a catch stitch (thank you Sewaholic).

29 thoughts on “Butterick 6582, I’m in love

  1. Love love love! When I first saw the new dress, I immidately thought of yaya’s collection. You did such a great job! Jack Henry loves it too.

    • Thanks Amy, especially for the ipad feedback. I had been reading your blog too and I’m so happy your family is together again. My mom was shocked when I told her you were married and had a baby.

  2. Gorgeous pattern, exquisite fit, and the interior finish is beautiful! Brava!

    Your Yaya must be quite a sophisticated woman! Brava to her too!

  3. Your dress is wonderfully made. I have that pattern also, I hope mine looks as good as yours, whenever I get around to making it.

    Good luck on your blog, I had the same nervous feeling when I started mine in june. I will definatly check back in to see what you have made.

  4. I LOVE how you’ve altered this dress! I have this pattern and am planning on making it for a special occasion I have coming up. I’m liking your blog as well. I’m also just getting started blogging and have spent all week making my blog page. I’ll post it up here when i get it published.

  5. Absolutely stunning dress! The fabric is divine, the fit is awesome, you look so happy and pretty in it! This just makes me want to go out and buy this pattern and some Chinese brocade :-D Well done!

Kind Words...

